East-Lansing-DUIWithout the aide of a reliable lawyer, a DUI charge can negatively change your life for years. A person charged with drunk driving in Michigan can face jail time, license suspension, driver responsibility fees, vehicle immobilization and numerous licensee points. All of these things can jeopardize your future and impact your job, and or future employability. At the Clark Law Office, our attorneys have over 30 years of experience in defending clients against drunk driving offenses and have been successfully protecting clients from the harsh penalties associated with DUI’s and other alcohol and drug related offenses.

In Michigan, there are essentially two separate ways that the prosecution can prove that a person was drunk driving. First, the prosecution can use what is called the per se rule where it is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol content that is above .08. Second, the prosecution can prove that your ability to operate the vehicle was substantially lessened or that your condition was compromised and significantly affected to the point where you could no longer operate the vehicle in a normal manner. Usually if your blood alcohol level is below .08 you will not be charged with a DUI, but because the prosecutor can attempt to prove your ability to drive the vehicle was substantially lessened it is not necessary that your blood alcohol level be .08 for you to be convicted of a DUI.

Challenge The Evidence From Your Drunk Driving Arrest

When facing Lansing DUI charges it is important to know what the evidence the prosecutor is going to be using against you and how to effectively challenge that evidence while at the same time presenting as many mitigating factors that would help improve your situation with the court and the prosecutors. The Clark Law Office in Lansing will fight for you at every step of the case and will investigate the legality of the police\’s conduct in stopping your vehicle, the procedures used to obtain evidence, the constitutionality of any statements you made along with reviewing the tests used to determine your blood alcohol content.

Why Do You Need an East Lansing Drunk Driving Attorney?

Beaumont-TowerThe East Lansing Police Department leads the state in drunk driving arrests among any other cities including Detroit, Grand Rapids, and Lansing.  Even with the large student population, East Lansing has just a fraction of the population of all the larger cities in the state.  This “crackdown” is usually at the expense of Michigan State University students as they make up a large majority of the town during the school year.  While it’s understandable that East Lansing would have more arrests than nearby non-college towns, even Ann Arbor doesn’t even come close to the same amount of DUI arrests.

According to a comprehensive study by Mlive, just one East Lansing police officer made more arrests (111) than the entire Ann Arbor Police Department which is twice it’s size and population.  Our East Lansing DUI attorneys know that students are regularly taken advantage of, and we’re here to help.  At The Clark Law Office, we’ve successfully handled DUI charges in the local area for the past 30 years.  Matthew R. Clark graduated from MSU with an undergraduate degree and then successfully completed MSU College of Law while interning at 54-B District Court in East Lansing.  Matt was also selected for The Geoffrey Fieger Trial Practice Institute which he successfully completed.  We know the local area and we know the local courtrooms.  Learn more about how you can help save your freedom, employment, relationships, and your driving privileges by contacting us at (517) 347-6900.

 

Free Consultation With An Experienced DUI Attorney

 

What Are The Different Drunk Driving Penalties & Fines in Michigan?

east-lansing-dui-attorneyThe State of Michigan has specific consequences laid out depending on the offense that you are being charged for. If the arrest is for your very first drunk driving offense, the corresponding penalties are mild compared to an arrest where it is a 2nd or 3rd offense. So what are the penalties and fines? Here is a general overview of the Michigan drunk driving penalties and fines, but if you need clarification or have any questions concerning your DUI charge, call one of our experienced Michigan criminal attorneys who know the intricacies of Michigan drunk driving law.  It’s important that you are aware of the penalties and your legal options.

 

  • 1st Offense Drunk Driving (OWI 1st) – A first offense drunk driving charge is a misdemeanor charge and usually results in a suspended license for up to six months and the fine will be anywhere from $100-$500. It is also possible to be sentenced with up to 93 days in jail. Depending on the discretion of the judge, you may also have to serve up to 360 hours of community service, have an ignition interlock device installed in your car, or have your vehicle completely immobilized for up to 180 days. Your driver’s license will be suspended for 30 days and it will be restricted for a total of 150 days. Six points will be added to your Michigan driver’s license.

  • 2nd Offense Drunk Driving (OWI 2nd) – A second offense drunk driving charge is also a misdemeanor and usually results in a suspended license for a minimum of one full year. This is double the amount of time compared to a first offense and it could even be longer depending on the judge. The associated fee can range anywhere from $200 to $1000. On top of this fee, Michigan charges a driver responsibility fee which is another $1000 added. The jail time can range from anywhere between 5 days to a full year. Six points will be added to your license and your plates will be immediately taken. Depending on the judge’s decision, you could also face 30-90 days of community service, an ignition interlock device being installed in your car, and vehicle immobilization from 90-180 days.

  • 3rd Offense Drunk Driving (OWI 3rd) – A third offense drunk driving is much more serious than the previous 2 charges. The third DUI charge is classed as a felony. There is a minimum of one year that your driver’s license will be suspended. The minimum jail time for a third offense is one year and the maximum jail time is five years. Just like a 2nd offense, 6 points will be added towards your license and your plates will be confiscated. The judge can also order 60-180 days of community service, an ignition locking device, and vehicle immobilization is required for 1-3 years unless forfeited.

Need More East Lansing, Michigan DUI Legal Information?

As you can see, the penalties and fines for drunken driving charges are severe in Michigan. If you find yourself arrested for drinking and driving, you should immediately contact a Lansing DUI lawyer to help strengthen your defense. We can help challenge the evidence against you in court and hopefully lower your fines and penalties. Defending yourself against a DUI charge is harder than it may appear, especially if you need to interview witnesses and cross examine some sort of medical expert


Contact Our Lansing DUI Attorneys For A FREE Consultation

Don’t let a guilty DUI conviction negatively affect the rest of your life. Put your mind at ease and let us get the best possible outcome for your situation. We know that facing a drunk driving charge can be one of the most stressful and fearful moments of your life, but you don’t have to face it alone. Learn your rights and put decades of experience and legal expertise in your corner.