Top Rated Personal Injury Attorney in Waverly, Michigan
Waverly, MI is located in Eaton County and is home to Waverly community schools and the Lansing Mall. It is commonly rated as one of the best places to live for families. It’s an affordable community, has good schools, and offers its residents a nice suburban environment. Unfortunately, just like anywhere else it is not immune to personal injuries and automobile accidents.
Data from the Michigan State Police Criminal Justice Information Center show that the number of crashes in 2022 is 4% higher than 2021. Traffic crash deaths are still above 1,100. Furthermore, a review of the 5-year trend indicates that traffic fatalities in Michigan roadways increased by 15%.
The state of workplace injuries is no different. The US Bureau of Labor Statistics reported a 2.8 incidence rate for non-fatal workplace injuries and illnesses in 2022. It is higher than the national rate which is at 2.7.
Are you or your loved part of the statistics and still suffering from an accident? You deserve to receive compensation. However, you must first be able to establish negligence and build a strong case for your claim.
What Is A Personal Injury?
Personal injury pertains to a category of law. It’s a term used for injuries that befall a person, rather than a piece of land, property, or commodity. It pertains to cases that involve both psychological harm and bodily injuries. Most of the time, victims suffer from both types of injuries.
This could be a car crash, or a fall brought about by poor safety practices. In any case, it’s important to be knowledgeable in Michigan personal injury laws. This will empower you to fight for your rights and get the compensation that you deserve.
Principles Of Personal Injury Law in Michigan
In Michigan, personal injury laws were made to establish a legal framework for victims seeking compensation for injuries.
Some key aspects of the law are:
Michigan has a non-fault insurance system in place. This means that your insurance policy will cover lost wages, medical expenses, and other costs during an accident. This will ensure quick processing of compensation and lessen the burden on the court system.
Michigan also implements a modified comparative fault system. This means that if you are partly accountable for the accident, the amount of compensation may decrease. This will depend on the level of your accountability.
Threshold For Suing
Although the no-fault system is beneficial, it imposes restrictions on when the victim can sue for personal injury. In Michigan, a lawsuit can only be filed if certain criteria are met such as:
- Serious impairment of body function
- Permanent serious disfigurement
Statute of Limitations
The length of time you can file a lawsuit after the injury is limited. It’s important to be aware of the time limit to make sure your legal rights are protected. In Michigan, it is 3 years.
The counting of the deadline usually starts on the date of the accident. If you don’t discover the injury right away, the clock will start running on the discovery date. Failing to get your lawsuit started on time will surely get your case dismissed in court.