Hit and run accidents can be deadly, and unfortunately, these happen more often than we’d like. In the state of Michigan, there were about 34,628 cases of hit and run accidents last 2018. These accidents account for 11% of all car crashes in the state last year. From these figures, it’s apparent that hit and run accidents are a state-wide concern. If you are a licensed driver in Michigan, you have to make sure to avoid reckless driving that leads to this kind of accident.
7 Things You Should Know about Hit and Run Accidents in Michigan
Hit and run accidents in Michigan are far too common. To help you understand and deal with hit and run accidents, here are seven things you should know:
- Hit and run accidents resulting in personal injury are a misdemeanor
Hit and run drivers in Michigan who have caused personal injury (meaning that is results in injury to any individual) are guilty of a misdemeanor. These drivers can face up to 1 year in prison and pay a fine that costs up to $1,000.
- A fatal hit and run accident is counted as a felony in Michigan
In the state of Michigan, drivers who are involved in fatal hit and run accidents (meaning that it results in the death of another individual) are guilty of a felony. That means that the person can face up to 15 years in prison or a fine of up to $10,000, or both.
- Hit and run accidents that result in serious body function impairment are also considered felony
Apart from death, hit and run drivers who have caused severe impairment of a body function is also guilty of a felony. These drivers can face up to 5 years in prison or a fine of up to $5,000, or both.
- Hit and run accidents that result in vehicular damage are tantamount to a misdemeanor
In Michigan, a driver who is guilty of hit and run can be charged with a misdemeanor if the accident resulted to vehicular damage operated by or attended by any individual. The guilty party can go to jail for up to 90 days or a fine of up to $100, or both.
- Drivers should remain at the scene of the accident to avoid being accused of a hit and run in Michigan
If you get involved in a car accident, make sure that you remain at the scene of the accident. Otherwise, you can be accused of doing a hit and run. Before you leave, make sure to provide your name, address, vehicle registration number, and other details like the driver and the occupants of the vehicle you had an accident with. Additionally, you should always show your driver’s license and request for medical aid for the people you’ve had an accident with.
- Victims of hit and run accidents can still collect no-fault benefits in Michigan
You may think that victims of hit and run wouldn’t be able to claim benefits if the perpetrator hasn’t been caught; however, they can still collect no-fault personal injury protection insurance benefits in Michigan. Some of the sources for the no-fault benefits include the victim’s personal no-fault auto insurance policy, the insurance policy of the victim’s spouse, the auto insurance policy of a resident relative of the victim, or the Michigan Assigned Claims plan.
Note that these funds have limits. For example, there’s a $250,000 cap on no-fault PIP medical benefits collected through MACP. It is ideal for victims to research on the inclusions of the no-fault benefits to make sure that they’re maximizing the doles they can claim.
- You can still claim benefits if you have “Uninsured Motorist” coverage
There’s a high percentage of drivers that continue to drive uninsured in Michigan. To protect yourself and your family, you must make sure that you are under an “Uninsured Motorist” coverage. It allows you to claim for damages if ever you get involved in a car accident even if the perpetrator doesn’t have their own insurance coverage. You’ll be able to financially recover for your pain, suffering, and injuries with the help of this insurance.
Know More About Michigan Car Accidents With The Clark Law Office
There’s still a lot to know about hit and run accidents in Michigan. Understand more details when you consult with professional legal partners like The Clark Law Office. We have been providing astute legal advice for years, and we’d be happy to assist you should you ever get involved in hit and run accidents. Contact our Lansing car accident lawyers today.